History and Origin

The goji berry (pronounced „Gotshi“) is a shrub fruit originating in Asia. Its beneficial effects have been known in China, Tibet and Mongolia for at least 4800 years. Today, they are cultivated in north-eastern Central China, in the autonomous province of Ningxia, where an annual festival of thanks lasting several days is celebrated with music and dancing and is dedicated to the berries. People from Ningxia believe in the miraculous effects of the „happy fruit“ and there are in fact 16 times more people who have reached their hundredth birthday in that province than in the rest of China.

We know the red wonder fruit from the nightshade family as the Chinese Wolfberry (or as boxthorn), while its Latin name is lycium barbarum but this versatile fruit is commonly and aptly translated as the „happy berry“. It arrived in Europe in the mid-18th century, although people were unaware of plant’s health potential for a long time. Albeit somewhat late, the „happy berry“ is now becoming increasingly popular in Europe, which is a good thing: this powerful red fruit promises nothing less than a long, vital and happy life.

Components

The goji berry is a multi-vitamin capsule in its most natural form. In addition to high levels of vitamin C and a very high number of B vitamins (B1, B2, B3), it also has a remarkable range of other vitamins, trace elements and minerals. The happy berry contains a total of 19 amino acids (protein building blocks) and an incredible 21 trace elements, including iron, calcium and zinc. The specific polysaccharides and carotenoids (natural pigments) also seem to be important factors in the goji berry’s positive effects.

Goji berries for health

The „happy fruit“ goji has always played a part in traditional Chinese medicine and the healing arts and is idolized as a veritable fountain of youth. The easily digestible berry is widely used in China for the treatment and curing of numerous diseases. Confidence in its reliability has not wavered for thousands of years.

Modern critical science is currently studying what exactly the goji berry can do and almost 3,000 studies on the effects and uses of this powerful fruit have so far been published.

In summary, these studies show that: the goji berry is the most nutritious plant on earth and it is therefore one of the best foods on the planet. In addition - and this has also been confirmed by science - the goji berry has one of the highest concentrations of vitamins and antioxidants of all the fruits in the world.

The incredibly high level of antioxidants means, in particular, that the goji berry not only has a real anti-aging effect but also ensures that the liver (and therefore the body as a whole) is detoxified more efficiently.

The berry is abundant in carotenoids (including zeaxanthin), which are especially important for our eyes as these vital substances can prevent the dreaded macular degeneration (a widespread eye disease in people over 60).

Every fifth cell in the human body is an immune cell and the goji berry helps them all work more effectively - it has been proved that goji berries make it more difficult for pathogens, toxins and mutated cells to infiltrate our immune system, a positive effect that results from the polysaccharides in them. These are complex carbohydrates, which are able to activate the body‘s own T-lymphocytes. As these specialized immune cells focus on fighting cancer cells and viruses, the goji berry is being used increasingly in corresponding therapies.

Owing to their anti-inflammatory effects, goji berries are also ideal for treating rheumatism, asthma, allergies and chronic pain. These red fruits are more and more frequently included in holistic action plans for relieving symptoms and recovery, even for autoimmune diseases. And there is also great hope that the goji berry may be able to help in the treatment of arthritis.

In summary, the aforementioned 3,000 scientific studies, numerous experiments and clinical tests show that the most nutritious fruit in the world has an almost unimaginable abundance of positive effects on the physical and mental well being of humans, and yet no adverse effects are known.

Finally, there is the very important point (but one that is difficult to prove scientifically) that the goji berry has a relaxing effect and makes people happier and more relaxed. If taken over long periods of time, it reduces feelings of stress and….. the wonder berry is even said to have an aphrodisiac effect! This applies equally to men and women and perhaps explains why it is known as the „happy berry“.

Consumption and Use

Goji berries provide an opportunity to eat healthily in an enjoyable way with delicious food. The most nutritious fruit in the world, with the highest number of vitamins, is exotic and tastes sweet yet it is simultaneously slightly sour and bitter. The red to reddish-brown goji berry is generally available fresh and dried and looks like a raisin but is slightly larger.

The goji berry can be eaten raw or, when dried, makes an ideal addition to muesli with yoghurt or milk, to salads and also goes well with ice cream and desserts. The little red goji fruit can also easily be turned into a delicious smoothie. When cooked, the fresh berries make an excellent accompaniment to meat and fish dishes and they can also be used in soups or stews.

Wonderful jams and preserves can also be made from the red miracle berry - our goji berry fruit jams are considered culinary highlights, which not everyone knows about (yet).

Moreover, goji berry extracts can be obtained that are then processed into vitamin-rich, delicious drinks such as tea, fruit juice and even champagne.

Anyone currently on a diet may want to consider eating goji berries as a valuable nutritional supplement, as they can reduce hunger pangs and high blood pressure.

Experts recommend, ideally, a handful of berries every day, particularly for children and pregnant women.

China is still the world‘s largest producer and exporter of goji berries but is also the world‘s largest producer and consumer of pesticides. In 2011, Chinese food inspections revealed alarmingly high levels of pollutants and pesticides, and the import of many products into the United States and Europe has been banned. Chinese farmers are therefore cut off from some international markets and the goji berry, in particular, has been adversely affected.

Now for the good news: In South Tyrol, everyone can consume this valuable red fruit, as the plant grows and thrives exceptionally here - the climatic conditions in this region being ideal. Goji berries are not affected by snow and cold weather; they are considered to be absolutely hardy and are able to survive at temperatures of minus 30° Celsius.The plant is not very demanding when it comes to the type of soil and once established, its water requirement is low but it thrives best in sunny locations.

South Tyrol has much more to offer than Gewürztraminer wine, bacon and cypress. Overall, the province, whose total area is around 7,400 square kilometers, provides just under 242,000 hectares of agricultural land, managed by over 20,000 farm businesses. Agriculture is spread throughout South Tyrol and there are fields all the way up from the valleys to the mountains and tree line. Lush meadows continue even above the treeline.

Goji berries from South Tyrol

Cultivation

Do all of your goji berries come from Schornhof?

Very definitely yes! We only use goji berries from Schornhof in our products. However, when it states „gojis from South Tyrol“, this means that the product includes gojis from South Tyrol.

Is Schornhof an organic farm?

Organic farming is of great interest to us and our operation has been working consistently in this direction for several years. We currently comply fully with the existing organic standards and in a few years we will be a certified organic business.

Our EC control number is: BZ-01124-A

How do you harvest the goji berries?

We harvest our goji berries completely by hand, with help from our harvesting assistants. We can only guarantee consistency and top quality berries by picking them by hand. We train our harvesters before they lick their first goji berry and familiarize them with the special features of this valuable fruit.

What checks are carried out?

We aspire to produce and deliver the highest quality, so we go even further than the extensive requirements and inspections specified by the official organic certification board ABCERT. We carry out independent checks continuously and also use independent laboratories such as the research center in Laimburg, which provides detailed leaf and residue analyses of our goji shrubs. In addition, we are monitored and advised by another external company, which brings us up to speed regarding HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) matters, thus enhancing our working safety.

Inhaltsstoffe

Auf einen Nenner gebracht ist die Goji-Beere eine Multi-Vitalstoff-Kapsel in ihrer natürlichsten Form. Neben sehr viel Vitamin C und einem bemerkenswert hohen Anteil an B-Vitaminen (B1, B2, B3) ist auch der Anteil an weiteren Vitaminen, Spurenelementen und Mineralstoffen beachtlich. So lassen sich in der Glücksbeere insgesamt 19 Aminosäuren (Eiweiß-Bausteine) und sagenhafte 21 Spurenelemente nachweisen, darunter Eisen, Calcium und Zink. Maßgeblich für die positive Wirkung der Goji-Beere scheinen auch die spezifischen Polysaccharide und die Carotinoide (natürliche Farbstoffe) zu sein.

Goji-Beeren für die Gesundheit

Seit jeher ist die „glückliche Frucht“ Goji Bestandteil der traditionellen chinesischen Medizin und Heilkunst, sie wird als wahrer Jungbrunnen nahezu vergöttert. Die gut bekömmliche Beere wird im Reich der Mitte zur Linderung und Heilung unzähliger Krankheiten eingesetzt, das Vertrauen in ihre Zuverlässigkeit ist seit Jahrtausenden ungebrochen.

Die moderne und kritische Wissenschaft schaut heute ganz genau hin, was die Goji-Beere wirklich alles kann und mittlerweile sind nahezu 3.000 Studien über die Wirkung und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der roten Powerfrucht erschienen.

Zusammengefasst ergeben diese Studien: Die Goji-Beere ist die nährstoffreichste Pflanze der Welt und sie ist damit eines der besten Lebensmittel unseres Planeten. Darüber hinaus – und auch das bestätigt die Wissenschaft – besitzt die Goji-Beere von allen Früchten der Welt eine der höchsten Ansammlungen von Vitaminen und Antioxidantien.

Gerade der unglaublich hohe Anteil an Antioxidantien verleiht der Goji-Beere nicht nur eine regelrechte Anti-Aging Wirkung, sondern sorgt auch dafür, dass die Leber und damit unser Körper effizienter entgiftet wird.

Die in der Beere reichlich vorhandenen Carotinoide, darunter das Zeaxanthin, sind für unsere Augen besonders wichtig, denn diese Vitalstoffe können der gefürchteten Makuladegeneration (einer weitverbreiteten Augenerkrankung bei Menschen über 60) vorbeugen.

Jede fünfte Zelle im menschlichen Körper ist eine Abwehrzelle und die Goji-Beere lässt sie allesamt besser arbeiten. Krankheitserregern, mutierten Zellen oder Giften wird ein Eindringen in unser Immunsystem nachweislich erschwert. Für diesen positiven Effekt sorgen die in der Goji-Beere enthaltenen Polysaccharide. Dabei handelt es sich um komplexe Kohlehydrate, die in der Lage sind, die körpereigenen T-Lymphozyten zu aktivieren. Da sich diese spezialisierten Abwehrzellen auf den Kampf gegen Krebszellen und Viren konzentrieren, wird die Anwendung der Goji-Beere auch immer mehr Bestandteil entsprechender Therapien.

Aufgrund ihrer antientzündlichen Wirkung kann die Goji-Beere auch bei Rheuma, Asthma, Allergien und chronischen Schmerzzuständen Einsatz finden und sogar bei Autoimmunerkrankungen wird das rote Früchtchen vermehrt in den ganzheitlichen Maßnahmenkatalog zur Linderung und Heilung aufgenommen. Und die Goji-Beere gilt neuerdings auch als ganz großer Hoffnungsträger in der Behandlung von Arthritis.

Die erwähnten 3.000 wissenschaftlichen Studien, die zahlreichen Experimente und klinischen Tests zeigen zusammenfassend, dass die nährstoffreichste Frucht der Welt eine nahezu unüberschaubare Fülle an positiven Auswirkungen auf das körperliche und geistige Wohlbefinden des Menschen hat, nachteilige Effekte sind hingegen keine bekannt.

Wissenschaftlich natürlich schwer nachweisbar und dennoch sehr bedeutend:
Viele sprechen der Goji-Beere eine relaxende Wirkung zu, sie würde uns Menschen gelassener und zufriedener machen. Über längere Zeit eingenommen würde auch nicht mehr so schnell Stress aufkommen und der Wunderbeere wird sogar ein aphrodisierender Effekt nachgesagt. Das erfreut Männlein und Weiblein gleichermaßen – vielleicht kommt ja auch daher die englische Bezeichnung „happy berry“ ...

Verzehr & Verwendung

Die Goji-Beeren bieten die Gelegenheit, sich auf eine wirklich schöne Art mit leckerem Essen gesund zu ernähren.
Das vitamin- und nährstoffreichste Obst der Welt ist exotisch süß im Geschmack und doch etwas säuerlich herb zugleich. Die rot bis rotbraune Goji-Beere ist grundsätzlich frisch und getrocknet erhältlich, ihr Aussehen kann mit einer etwas größeren Rosine verglichen werden.

Die Goji-Beere kann in rohem Zustand genossen werden, getrocknet passt sie hervorragend in ein Müsli mit Joghurt oder Milch, in einen Salat, aber auch zu Eis- und Süßspeisen. Und die kleinen roten Goji-Früchte lassen sich leicht in einen leckeren Smoothie verwandeln. Werden die frischen Beeren gekocht, so sind sie eine ausgezeichnete Zuspeise zu Fleisch- und Fischgerichten, sie lassen sich aber auch in einer Suppe oder in einem Eintopf verwenden.

Herrliche Marmeladen und Konfitüren lassen sich aus der roten Wunderbeere ebenfalls herstellen, unsere Goji-Beeren-Fruchtaufstriche gelten als kulinarische Highlights und sind immer noch ein Geheimtipp.

Außerdem können aus der Goji-Beere Extrakte gewonnen werden, die sich zu vitaminreichen und wohlschmeckenden Getränken wie Tee, Fruchtsäften und sogar Sekt weiterverarbeiten lassen.

Wer gerade eine Diät durchstehen muss, der kann die Goji-Beeren als wertvolles Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zu Hilfe nehmen, darüber hinaus dämpfen die roten Beeren das Hungergefühl und senken einen erhöhten Blutdruck. Experten empfehlen täglich eine Handvoll Beeren als optimale Verzehrmenge, das gilt auch für Kinder und für Schwangere.

China ist immer noch der weltgrößte Produzent und Exporteur der Goji-Beeren, China ist aber gleichzeitig auch der weltweit größte Produzent und Verbraucher von Pestiziden. Die Kontrollen chinesischer Lebensmittel haben 2011 einen alarmierend hohen Gehalt an Schadstoffen und Pestiziden ergeben und zahlreiche Produkte wurden vom Export in die USA oder nach Europa ausgeschlossen. Die chinesischen Bauern sind dadurch von den internationalen Märkten abgeschnitten, besonders davon betroffen ist die Goji-Beere.

Nun die gute Nachricht: In Südtirol muss niemand auf das wertvolle rote Powerfrüchtchen verzichten, denn die Pflanze wächst und gedeiht auch hierzulande hervorragend, die klimatischen Bedingungen eignen sich dafür bestens. Schnee und Kälte beeindrucken die Goji-Beeren gar nicht, sie gelten als absolut winterfest und halten auch Temperaturen von minus 30 Grad Celsius aus. Auch, was den Boden betrifft, ist die Pflanze nicht sehr anspruchsvoll. Nach dem Anwachsen ist ihr Wasserbedarf gering, aber sie bevorzugt einen eher sonnigen Platz.

Südtirol hat weit mehr zu bieten als Gewürztraminer, Speck oder Zypressen. Insgesamt verfügt das etwa 7.400 Quadratkilometer große Land über knapp 242.000 Hektar landwirtschaftlich genutzte Flächen, die von über 20.000 Betrieben bewirtschaftet werden. Die Anbauflächen sind über ganz Südtirol verteilt und diese agrarischen Kulturen sind die bestimmenden Elemente vom Tal bis hinauf in die Berge und zur Waldgrenze. Und selbst dort, wo keine Bäume mehr wachsen, zieren saftige Almwiesen das Bild von Flora und Fauna.

Goji-Beeren aus Südtirol

Anbau

Kommen alle Goji-Beeren vom Schornhof?

Ganz klares Ja! In unseren Produkten verwenden wir ausschließlich Goji-Beeren vom Schornhof. Nur, wo „Goji aus Südtirol“ draufsteht, ist auch Goji aus Südtirol drin.

Ist der Schornhof ein Biobetrieb?

Biologische Landwirtschaft ist uns ein echtes Anliegen und unser Betrieb geht seit Jahren konsequent in diese Richtung. Bereits jetzt halten wir uns ausschließlich an die bestehenden Biorichtlinien und in ein paar Jahren werden wir ein biozertifizierter Betrieb sein.

Unsere EG-Kontrollnummer lautet: BZ-01124-A

Wie erfolgt die Ernte der Goji-Beeren?

Wir ernten unsere Goji-Beeren ausschließlich in reiner Handarbeit, unterstützt werden wir dabei von unseren Erntehelfern. Nur durch schonende Handarbeit können wir die fortlaufende und höchste Qualität unserer Beeren garantieren. Unsere Erntehelfer schulen wir vor Beginn der Ernte auf die Goji-Beere ein und machen sie mit der Besonderheit dieser wertvollen Frucht vertraut.

Welche Kontrollen werden durchgeführt?

Wir haben den Anspruch, allerhöchste Qualität zu produzieren und anzubieten, deshalb sind uns die umfangreichen Vorgaben und Kontrollen der amtlichen Biozertifizierungsstelle ABCERT nicht genug. Also führen wir laufend auch selbständige Kontrollen durch und beauftragen unabhängige Labore, wie etwa die Versuchsanstalt Laimburg, mit ausführlichen Blatt- und Rückstandsanalysen unserer Goji-Stauden. Zusätzlich werden wir von einer weiteren, externen Firma kontrolliert und beraten, die uns in Sachen HACCP (Gefahrenanalyse und kritische Kontrollpunkte) auf Vordermann bringt und damit unsere Arbeitssicherheit erhöht.